“At least something good came out of this”

How to encourage positive thoughts:

The other day my boyfriend and I drove two hours to Los Angeles to apply for a student visa at the Spanish Consulate so that I could participate in a year long study abroad program in Spain. I spent my last few dollars on the gas to get there and I only had enough for the fees I needed to pay that day in LA. We jumped through hoops to get try to get everything done and arrive at this certain location before my appointment time– we were tired and hungry.

We got to the door, jumped in the elevator where thousands of thoughts ran through my head and my stress accelerated. Walked up to the door and the building was already closed for service that day. We had missed it by an hour and I felt like all my efforts for this were in vain.

I was upset for just a minute until I said to myself, “Well I tried my best, and at least we ate good food on this trip”.

Besides all the businessy part of the trip, we ate at the original Tommy’s Burgers spot, we explored other ethic communities and later that day we ate some dee-licious Peruvian food. A spot my boyfriend said he grew up eating with his parents and swore it was the best Peruvian food in town. I ate Lomo Saltado de Carne and as I took my first bites of this perfectly seasoned piece of carne asada I experienced heaven in my mouth. I could not help but blurt out a moan-like groan at my obvious satisfaction with this Peruvian spot he brought me to.

At the moment I realized I wasn’t sad about not being able to get my student travel visa and therefore no longer able to participate in the program, I wasn’t sad that I now had to figure out what I was gonna do with my life, no; I was happy to have eaten good food, with good company, in the highest of moods.

In the end, I looked back on the day that seemed like another failed attempt, I thought of the “at least” part of the day. No I didn’t get my student visa but at least I ate some bomb food and made memories that might be worth the drastic change of my future plans.

Moral of the story: Whenever you find yourself in a sucky situation. stop and try and think to yourself what good came out of all this. By thinking, “at least..” you realize it wasn’t all that bad.

Live in the moment, worry later. 

*This post was republished from a previous blog from Fall 2013

Leave a Reply

